November 19, 2008

  •  



    I checked in on this boy this morning and he
    was ADOPTED on 18 NOVEMBER!!!!!!



    I was searching Petfinder for a specific dog that a friend of mine adopted and, not looking at my keyboard, I mistyped the zip code and what should appear on my screen but this guy:

    #26 - 01

    The Petfinder entry for him can be found here.

    This dog, a LARGE Lab-Mastiff mix, is referred to as #38 on Petfinder and he is at the Columbus County Animal Shelter in Whiteville, North Carolina. The website stated that #38 was a stray but in my experience, dogs like this don't just appear out of nowhere and people who have big dogs like this guy don't just release them into the wild. Besides, how does someone lose something this big? My guess is that he got loose and wandered, the owners looked for him but eventually gave him up for lost or dead. My co-worker's dogs escaped last week and got over 5 miles in a day and a half. She's certain that they had no idea where they were going, they were just going. Dogs do that sometimes.

    He was scheduled to be euthanized last Friday but was held over for some reason.

    Earlier last week, I did send an email to the shelter inquiring as to whether they'd attempted to contact anyone about getting him to a different region of the country or if they'd contacted any Mastiff rescue organizations. However, I don't believe that my email had any influence over his stay of execution because this shelter has been completely unresponsive to any of my subsequent emails about this dog.

    I want to know if he is dog and cat friendly, his approximate age, and if his gait indicated any problems with his hips but, for some reason, they won't tell me. If he is healthy, this dog is highly adoptable and I can't believe no one has grabbed him up - unless there is something wrong with him.

    I've phoned the shelter twice and no one can seem to help me. I've also sent emails to several different rescue groups in the area trying to get someone to get off their ass to at least make contact with these people  --  nothing.

    I am willing to take this dog, I just can't get to North Carolina at the moment so I began thinking of how a network of people might be able to get him part way -- it is 1,200 miles one-way. I'd like to get him to Kansas or even to Nashville, that is half-way, then I would only have to drive 600 miles. Nashville is a 2-day trip and NC would take almost a week round-trip.

    I've never searched the internet for dogs that are in trouble or on death row, that would be too depressing. I feel like my finding this dog was more like fate.

    I haven't made any progress with the people at this shelter but if anyone out there has a better idea, or knows people strategically spaced between North Carolina and Tennessee or who is driving to or through Lawrence, Kansas who could relay this dog west, I'd love to hear from them.

Comments (10)

  • I have a friend that's involved in some animal rescue groups; I've emailed her to see if she has suggstions.  I'll let you  know.

  • @AmyinVA - You are an angel! I'm at wits end with this shelter, it's very frustrating. If I have to go down there, I'm bitin' someone.

  • What I would start doing if this shelter remains unresponsive is to search for other organizations in that area. Start contacting them and see if they can, at the very least, get him out of that kill shelter until you can make arrangements to get him on his way to you. We have taken animals out of kill shelters before in attempts to give them time to find the right people and I'm guessing that there are other organizations like mine in that area. Once you can get in touch with a no-kill shelter they will also be able to start the ball rolling in getting him to you, if it's not too late. I'll try searching for you as well.

  • Here is the Columbus Humane Society in that county. They may be able to help you get started. After looking at the Columbus County Animal Shelter website it appeared to be more of a county run shelter where it is, quite simply, a holding tank of sorts. The Humane Society's website and description sounded more like my org. and they may be more willing to help you. Hope this give this dog a chance! Let me know if I can help in any way.

  • @rubyblue123 - 

    @AmyinVA - 

    This dog was adopted yesterday !!!

    Thank you for you help and support, I am so glad this guy found a home.

  • Oh wow, that is great.. for the dog!  I was just checking in because I JUST heard from my friend.. I'm going to send you her email anyway, just in case.  I'll send it via message. 

  • Yay!  I'm so glad to read these comments and the happy ending!  Wow, I'd like to bite someone at that shelter, too.  You'd think they'd be all over it, any time someone expresses interest in adopting a dog!

    Kathi

  • Isn't it strange that they say dogs don't go to our heaven...yet...through life they seem to be a gift to us from God? I know that's all religious and stuff but...it's just true. I am glad there was a happy ending. xo

  • Ooohhhh!! I love happy endings.  That's awesome! I shouldn't visit kill shelter sites because inevitably I get upset and want to scoop them all up, find a few acres somewhere, and let them run to their hearts content, knowing they are safe and secure.  I fell hard for #33...a very scared young girl who's had a week's reprieve.  All I can do is wish she was at our shelter and hope someone falls for her before next week.

    Sorry for the slightly maudlin post...that wasn't the intent.

  • @wannabwrtr - In know exactly what you mean, I'd be up to my neck in dogs if I visited shelters on a regular basis. I try to concentrate my efforts on finding homes for giant dogs, Mastiffs, Danes, St. Bernards, the occasional Akita. I've never seen a homeless wolfhound or they'd be on the list too.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment